Nov 22, 2016
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Next year's BFC/Vogue Fashion Fund will crown three winners, not one

Nov 22, 2016

The British Fashion Council announced this morning that the annual BFC/Vogue Designer Fund will have a new format for the next edition. The BFC will decide upon three recipients of the fund instead of one, giving the emerging designers more opportunities to win.

BFC/Vogue Designer Fund's 2015 Finalists - Courtesy British Vogue

This coming year, the £200,000 financial reward (roughly $250,000 USD), will be split between three winners instead of one. All three winners will receive the mentorship of the British Fashion Council and access to potential investors. Vogue stated this new format will allow the process and award "to embrace the impact that hiring experienced talent has had on previous winners."

Designers who make the shortlist for the fund will be nominated by a select judging committee of industry insiders.

Andra Shulman, British Vogue’s editor-in-chief will head up the committee, alongside Topshop’s Mary Homer, Burberry’s Sarah Manley, and Farfetch’s Susanne Tide-Frater

The BFC/Vogue Designer Fund has been awarded to some of the biggest names in fashion in the past including Erdem, Christopher Kane, Nicholas Kirkwood, Peter Pilotto, Jonathan Saunders, and Mary Katrantzou. Last year’s winner was Sophia Webster.

The BFC's updated format will be assessed on its effectiveness next year.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.