May 1, 2019
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Wales Bonner wins 2019 BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund

May 1, 2019

British fashion label Wales Bonner has been announced as the recipient of this year’s BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund and its £200,000 cash prize.

Grace Wales Bonner pictured with Edward Enninful and Caroline Rush - BFC

Grace Wales Bonner is establishing herself as one of London’s most interesting newcomers, and already has several prestigious prizes under her belt, including the 2016 LVMH Prize.

Earlier this week she was also announced as a shortlisted designer for the BFC/GQ Designer Menswear Fund, supported by JD.com, and a finalist for the 2019 BFC Fashion Trust.

As the winner of the BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund, Wales Bonner will receive a 12-month, high-level mentoring programme and that cash prize to take her label to its next stage of growth.

Edward Enninful, editor-in-chief of British Vogue and chair of the Fund Committee said: “Grace is a huge creative talent and her label Wales Bonner has a unique vision, which really relates to the now. Her diverse perspective and boundary breaking design is what we need more of within the industry. I look forward to seeing how this support propels her further.”

All shortlisted brands, including A.W.A.K.E Mode, Alighieri, Charles Jeffrey Loverboy, David Koma, Neous and Rejina Pyo will receive a full mentoring programme through the BFC Business Support team and legal advice from award-winning law firm Mishcon de Reya.

Caroline Rush, chief executive of the British Fashion Council, said: “Her hard work and uncompromising vision have turned her label into an internationally acclaimed British brand and encouraged the rise of a new wave of young British creatives behind her. The judging panel was impressed by her exceptional talent for storytelling and craftsmanship and we look forward to seeing her grow.”

Previous winners of the BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund include Christopher Kane, Erdem, Mary Katrantzou, Molly Goddard, Mother of Pearl, Nicholas Kirkwood, Palmer//harding, Peter Pilotto and Sophia Webster.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.