May 28, 2014
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Thomas Tait takes LVMH Prize

May 28, 2014

The Canadian Thomas Tait has won the LVMH Prize, which includes a 300,000-euro grant, the jury having rendered its verdict on Wednesday, May 28 in Paris. LVMH will accompany Tait for a year, providing him with his own team of mentors.

The womenswear designer, who shows during Fashion Week in London, where he resides, received the prize from the hands of Delphine Arnault and her dream team jury: Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton), Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs) Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Humberto Leon (Kenzo), Phoebe Philo (Celine), Raf Simons (Dior) and Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy).

Thomas Tait wins the first LVMH Prize

Besides the creative wing of the group’s dream jury, were also two of its officers: Jean-Paul Claverie, advisor to Bernard Arnault and director LVMH sponsorship and Pierre-Yves Roussel, CEO of LVMH Fashion Group.

“He’s an extremely talented designer. I am delighted that LVMH can help in developing his brand,” said the Vuitton-clad Delphine Arnault, assistant general manager of LVMH’s flagship house LVMH. “I have no doubt though all the other Prize finalists will have an amazing journey and I wish them luck," she added. Besides the check for 300,000 euros, LVMH will accompany Thomas Tait for a year, providing him with his own team of mentors.

Hood by Air fall/winter 2014-2015 (Photo PixelFormula)

Surprise - LVMH wanted to recognize two additional designers, besides the winner, with a Special Jury Prize from the New York brand Hood by Air, headed by Shayne Oliver, and Miuniku, the womenswear brand founded by the Sutradhar sisters from Mumbai, semi-finalists for the last H&M Prize.

They prevailed over fellow finalists Jacquemus, Simone Rocha, CG by Chris Gelinas, Gabriele Colangelo, Tillmann Lauterbach, Tim Coppens, Vika Gazinskaya and Suno.

The LVMH Prize also awarded three young fashion school graduates with internships at the studios of Dior, Celine and Givenchy. Winners include Peter Do, a 23 year-old graduate of FIT in New York; Flavien Juan Nunez, also 23, a former student of La Cambre in Brussels and the IFM in Paris and finally Teruhiro Hasegawa, 29, a graduate of Central Saint Martins in London.

Applications for the next LVMH Prize will be made available in November.

Copyright © 2022 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.